top of page
Dan Yuhas_web.jpg

Dan Yuhas

Artistic Director

Born in 1947. Studied piano and composition at the Rubin Academy in Tel Aviv, with Seter, Partos and Boscovich and further studies in London  and Paris.

His music was performed by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra, the Jerusalem Symphony Orchestra, the Israel Chamber Orchestra, the Israel String Quartet, the Arditti Quartet, the Neue Vocalsolisten Stuttgart , Ensemble Modern and different ensembles and performers in Israel and Europe and Asia.


Founder and director of the Israel Contemporary Players and the Center for Electronic Music.

Chairman of the Israeli Composers' League.      (2002-2012)

Vice Chairman of the Asian Composers League  (2007-2012) (2016 -2018 )

Chairman of the Asian Composers League  (2018-  )

Teaches composition and counterpoint at the Buchmann-Mehta Music School at the

Tel Aviv University.


Prizes and Awards:


1987 received the ACUM Prize 

1988 was awarded the Prime Minister's award for composers. 

1998 was awarded the Lieberson Prize for orchestral composition.

2001 received the ACUM Prize for composition

2007 received again the ACUM prize for life achievement

2007 received The Tel Aviv Municipality prize for composition

2008   received  the Koussevitzky Award (commission) from the  

           Koussevitzky Foundation and the Library of Congress

2009  received the National Lottery Prize for Composition and again the 

            Prime Minister's award for composers.

2015 Received the Acum Prize for “Achievement of the Year” for “Repercussions” performed by Ensemble Modern.

2019 Received the Engel Prize for composition

bottom of page